Day 2: Which Story Are You Telling?

A couple of months ago, I had the opportunity to listen to a sermon on fear by Brett, a guest pastor at my church. Brett was recalling something he read in a book called, Scary Close. In this book, the author stated how we, people, can be compared to two circles, one within the other. The inner circle is the “real” you, the you that God created with all of those funny little quirks and talents that He designed specifically with you in mind, in other words, the inner circle is “our story”.  I’ll be honest and tell you I haven’t read the book myself but I think of the scripture Psalm 139:13. The verse reads, “For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.” Then you have the outer circle, this is what we think is the more interesting story, this is the story that we have created to tell others. In recalling the book, Brett went on to say how the story that God created within us, the one that we are trying to cover up, is more often than not, the story that really is the most interesting. Furthermore, when we don’t tell our real story, we cover up God’s story in our life.

Inspired by Scary Close

Why do “we” do this? I say “we” because I’m willing to say that there are a bigger majority of people who cover up the real story than those who don’t. I’ll give you one reason why, it’s the fear of being vulnerable. Remember the two definitions of vulnerable? If not, check out yesterday’s post for a refresher, Day 1: Hi, I’m “Insert Name Here” and I’m Vulnerable.

What are we missing out on in terms of relationships when we neglect to let our vulnerability show? How many times have we prolonged God’s plans for ourselves or for someone else because we refuse to be vulnerable and let God work His plan?

This is not to say that we need to go out into the world and tell anyone with a listening ear our entire life story, please don’t do that. But what I am saying is that our outer circle, the one we like to present to others, most often is used to glorify us, the individual, not God. But when we get rid of that outer circle and we allow God’s creation in us to show, God’s name is glorified. I love how Paul write in 2 Corinthians 3:5: Not that we are competent in ourselves to claim anything for ourselves, but our competence comes from God.

So, I ask you, which story are telling? Your story or God’s story written just for you?

3 thoughts on “Day 2: Which Story Are You Telling?

  1. Very insightful! I love the way you eloquently stated this idea of the two selves. I think one place that this concept is proven is on social media. It is easy to see this concept time after time with a quick scroll through your timeline. Erika, I accept the challenge to be more vulnerable in showing my true story.

    Like

    • Social media can be depressing. On one hand, you look at social media and think everyone is living this exciting life. On the other hand, you can look at it and feel sorry for people who are trying to portray an image that is so different from reality. I guess everyone wants a sense of belonging and they feel telling “their story” will gain more acceptance.

      Like

Leave a comment